College Street Style: Erika Muir

I’m back.

Heading into midterms brings about a couple thoughts…

We are halfway through this semester and that much closer to summer,

but it also brings about the stress that comes along with the inevitable late night study sessions.

But despite the drab weather and the rising pressure of midterms and all they entail,

Sophomore Erika Muir has managed to stay looking fab on the George Fox campus.

Get the low down…

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Grade: Sophomore

Major: Fashion Merchandising

Who or what inspires you? I am really inspired by poetry. One of my major outlets is writing and reflecting on how I am feeling. I love taking raw emotion and making something completely new and beautiful out of it.

Where do you like to shop? “My absolute favorite place to shop is H&M. They always have something so true to my unique and personal style. I also really enjoy target, they have the best shoes. For jewelry, I shop at Charming Charlie, where I work back home. Their jewelry is trendy, comes in so many different types and categories, is reasonably priced, and I get a discount! Lastly, I love Pulp and Circumstance- a local shop here in town. It’s a specialty store with unique jewelry and the best stationary. It’s like Pinterest exploded, which is one of the best things that could ever happen to man kind!”

Where is your outfit from? “Sweater: Charming Charlie- where I work back home, pants: H&M, shoes: target, jacket: H&M, rings: both from Charming Charlie, necklace: pulp and circumstance.”

How would you describe your personal style? “I would say it is trendy with some vintage undertones. I also appreciate an urban style with a free spirited, hippie vibe- I sometimes partake in those looks as well. I mostly wear jewel tones because they compliment my skin tone, hair, and eye color. I also prefer comfort over all things. Knit sweaters and leggings are my best friends.”

Why did you choose this outfit? “I liked the way the colors worked together, from the sweater and pants, to the shoes, to the gold of the necklace. Throwing in the lace gave a more feminine touch to a casual outfit. I chose the jewelry for a more unique reason. The key necklace says, “Live to Give”, I wear this as a reminder to put others before myself and remember how important it is to serve the people around me. The ring that I wear with a bow on it reminds me to care for myself and appreciate who I am as an individual.”

Who are your favorite designers? “I like Betsy Johnson for her unique, edgy, yet feminine designs. For shoes, Steve Madden has my heart. I really enjoy Herschel for their bags, they are modern with a vintage twist. Kate spade has the most beautiful watches!”

Any favorite trends? “I am really liking the Birkenstocks, open back sweaters, trends with hair: all things braids, bold lip colors, wool socks, knitted/crochet head bands, simple, delicate necklaces.”

If you could raid anyone’s closet who’s would it be? “Lauren Conrad. I love her style. It’s classy, trendy, feminine and very tasteful.”

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset     Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset     Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset     Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset     Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Erika’s outfit is a perfect combination of “always a good idea” comfort with fresh feminine accents.

The lace on her sweater and gold jewelry add that flare to the overall look.

 Oregon’s rainy weather always welcomes a nice sweater and a good pair of combat boots to walk from class to class.

Erika owns her style while adding special accessories to really make it her personalized.

Her radiant personality shines through, and she rocks her look around campus.

Let’s take these approaching midterms by storm, and still look good doing it.

Stay stylish and things of that nature…

XOXO

Anna

Tagged ,

Leave a comment