Dress to impress.

So it’s the first day of school and you couldn’t be more excited.

You haven’t been up this early in forever and the memories of summer are slowly becoming a thing of the past.

You don’t even know where your first class is and you realize you should’ve left 10 minutes ago.

Who doesn’t like that?!

Yeah. Right.

The first day of school is a momentous occasion for me for other reasons.

Sure I love seeing all my friends again and catching up is great but there is something else that gets me going.

For me one of the things I look forward to most of all are the “first day of school outfits”.

Yeah, I know…it seems so crazy but I’m being totally serious.

We have literally been programmed our entire lives to think that the first day of school deserves a new pair of jeans, maybe a shirt and might as well buy new shoes to complete the look.

Its like a first impression that lets everyone know who you are and what your about.

Yeah…a new pair of jeans is suppose to tell you all of that.

I feel like the perfect first day of school outfit is one that allows your personality to shine through without looking like you spent hours trying to figure something out.

Even though you very well may have spent hours trying to put something together.

I’m guilty. Whoops.

I find extreme joy in picking out my outfits the night before.

So I figured I would pick out an imaginary first day of school outfit!

I’d like to think this would make a pretty good one…

First Day.

 

You have all the essentials:
A good pair of Boyfriend style denim pants.
A casual yet sophisticated tank.
A pair of practical sandals for all the walking around campus you’re going to be doing.
Gold accessories with a pop of color in the ring.
And to finish it off, a cute backpack because lets face it, even the backpack needs to be on point.
You are set to dress to impress on your first day.
BUT I am here to mention another thing I have noticed during my college career.
The thing that is almost guaranteed to happen and I have no idea why.
It’s called “Day Two” and it looks like this…
Sweats, hair up, work out t-shirt or some other shirt you’ve had for too many years, and a pair of shoes you slipped on as you were running out the door.
The glitz and glamor of the first day of school is gone forever and people seem to instantly stop caring.
Now, I’m not saying that I get “ready” everyday because I certainly care less some days more than others but I want to know where the disconnect is between the first and second days of school.
Like, why give up so soon?
Where does all the zest for life and creativity go?
It’s like reality hits and all the papers and homework starts adding up and the outward appearance seems to get pushed to the back burner.
Now this is all coming from a Fashion Merchandising major who spends her days reading the latest fashion magazines trying to keep up with the trends.
So don’t get mad at me. Please.
Confession: I’m actually wearing sweats as I’m typing this thinking “how ironic”. But it is late on a Friday night so it’s okay right?
It’s an epidemic on college campuses across America.
The case of the Day Two.
Okay that last statement was a bit exaggerated.
Anyways, just a thought I figured I would spend my Friday night writing about.
If anything I hope you found this somewhat humorous.
Now I’m going to get back to my Friday night.
I’m in college, I should be out doing something super fun.
Ha.
Stay zesty and things of that nature…
XOXO
Anna
Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

